Cricket Readers Recommend

The Chronicles of Narnia Series

by C.S. Lewis

This is an excellent series that is full of magic and suspense. It includes characters like Mr. Tumnus, Aslan , The White Which, and more. It is one of my favorite series. I highly recommend it.

Average: 4.7 (24 votes)
submitted by Clair T., age 10
(July 2, 2008 - 11:56 am)

These are great books and I highly recommend them.

submitted by Amy, age 10, USA
(July 3, 2008 - 9:25 am)

These books are amazing. However, everyone should know that the order that the books are being sold in now are actually different than the order in which C.S. Lewis wrote them. They were changed after he died to a chronological version to make the series easier to understand. Interesting, Eh?

submitted by Willa C., age 12 4/4, Nehalem, Or
(July 4, 2008 - 11:23 am)

Very interesting . How do you know?

submitted by Clair T., age 10, Nebraska
(July 5, 2008 - 4:50 pm)

Well the old books are sold in the old format and the new ones are in the new order.

submitted by Willa C., age 12 4/4, Nehalem, Or
(July 13, 2008 - 3:24 pm)

I think The Magicians Nephew came last to explain how Narnia was made

submitted by Liberty G., age 11, Arkansas
(July 26, 2008 - 3:04 pm)

I agree with Liberty. I've only read it in the order where you start with The Magicians Nephew but I want to try the other way. Has anyone read it both ways? What is everyone's favorite? I love The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe but I also like The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. Does anyone else think that the Voyage of the Dawn Treader rocks?

submitted by Maggie J., age 12, U.S.A.
(February 19, 2009 - 12:09 pm)

 The Voyage of The Dawn Treader was amazing! I even had a dream once that I was Lucy in that book (and I never dream about books I don't love)!

submitted by Ima Bookworm, age 10, Milky Way Galax
(April 11, 2009 - 9:18 pm)

I have read it bouth ways.

submitted by Elizabeth H
(October 27, 2009 - 11:01 pm)

Read it both ways. More interesting original way.

submitted by Loretta R., age 9, Cincinnati, OH
(April 3, 2015 - 1:16 pm)

Read it both ways. More interesting original way.

submitted by Loretta R., age 9, Cincinnati, OH
(April 3, 2015 - 1:16 pm)

One place to look so you'll know for sure is a book called 'C.S.Lewis: Letters To Children'. In it he responds to a little boy (with whom he wrote regularly) who said he'd read the series in chronological order. C.S.Lewis liked the idea and the books were later published in the order we know. The old order is in the order in which Lewis published them. He did not thing when he began 'The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe'that it would one day turn into a set, then a trilogy The Chronicles of Narnia'.

submitted by Sophia R., age 14, Chicago, IL
(February 7, 2009 - 1:13 pm)

Thanks, Sophia!  I like that you told me exactly what C.S. Lewis was thinking!

submitted by Nancy H.
(February 9, 2009 - 11:26 am)

The original order is (the order he wrote them in)...

1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

2. Prince Caspian

3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

4. The Magician's Nephew

5. The Silver Chair

6. The Last Battle


submitted by Copeland S., age 11, Maryland
(September 21, 2008 - 1:22 pm)

What about The Horse and His Boy?

submitted by Patrick H., age 11, Herscher, IL
(April 11, 2009 - 10:09 am)

I liked most of all the books, but some parts were slow. If you haven't read the first book yet, you definitely should, because then you find out how the magic wardrobe got to be in the profesor's mansion!

submitted by Ali, age 11, Massachusetts
(July 7, 2008 - 10:28 pm)